7th Ward April 7th General Election Endorsements

7th Ward Independent Democrats have voted to endorse the following candidates on the April 7, 2015 General Election Ballot:
Re-Elect Board President Lewis Reed
Elect Jack Coatar for 7th Ward Alderman
Re-Elect Katherine Wessling for Board of Education
Elect Charli Cooksey for Board of Education

7th Ward Independent Democrats have voted to make No Endorsement on:
Lafayette Square Special Business District

— Marie Ceselski, 7th Ward Democratic Committeewoman

7th Ward Earth Day Census Volunteers Wanted For April

We will be targeting:

  • Graffiti
  • Broken Glass and Broken Windows on vacant properties
  • Dumpsters needing replacement
  • Alley Trash Issues, particularly mattresses & upholstered furniture that can result in flea infestations

More Information.

Marie Ceselski, 7th Ward Democratic Committeewoman

School Board Candidate Survey Responses

7th Ward Independent Democrats 2015 St. Louis School Board Candidates Survey Results

Part A. The Personal Side of the Candidate. These are the Get to Know the candidates as persons questions. 

Part B. The Candidate As School Board Member. These are the Candidate views and goals questions.

We received responses from Natalie A. Vowell, David L. Jackson, Jr., Katherine Wessling, and Charli A. Cooksey. To date, we have not received responses from Thomas R. Oldenburg and Joey C. Hollins. Oldenburg has since bowed out of the race.

Natalie A. Vowell, David L. Jackson, Jr., and Charli A. Cooksey participated in our Candidate Forum on March 16. Katherine Wessling was out-of-town and, therefore, unavailable for the forum. Joey C. Hollins was contacted several times and did not respond.

15th Ward Democrats also have their School Board Candidate Questionnaire posted online. 

Voters will choose two School Board Candidates at the April 7th General Election. The incumbents are David L. Jackson, Jr. and Katherine Wessling.

Contact, neighborhood, and ward information on the School Board Candidates may be found here.

Information on ballot issues and other candidate races on the April 7th Ballot may be found here.

7th Ward Independent Democrats Endorsements are here.

— Marie Ceselski, 7th Ward Democratic Committeewoman

Proponent Speaker Needed On Lafayette Square Special Business District

We need a Proponent Speaker on the Lafayette Square Special Business District for our 7 pm Monday April General Election Forum. Unfortunately, “Looking Forward Lafayette Square, SBD Study Committee” is not able to provide a Proponent Speaker because of the late notice on our part. The request for a speaker was made this week because we believed that we had a Proponent Speaker and it turned out that we didn’t. Miscommunication on our part.

In lieu of a Proponent Speaker, the group has advised us to refer people to the Lafayette Square website. We have an Opponent Speaker booked, so sending people to a website does not provide proper balance on the topic at Monday night’s event.

We are in search of someone to take one for democracy, read up on the issue from that website, and speak in favor of the ballot issue at the Monday event.

If you are interested in this assignment, please email ward7stl@aol.com or call 436-5311.

— Marie Ceselski, 7th Ward Democratic Committeewoman