Tuesday BOA Meeting With Ameren on #MoLeg Rate Hike Legislation


Make your voices heard! Contact your Aldermen and Board President Lewis Reed. Contact your State Senator and State Representative. Contact information at end of post.

1 pm Tuesday, January 23, 2018
St. Louis Board of Aldermen
10 am Thursday, December 7, 2017
St. Louis Board of Aldermen
Legislation Committee and Public Utilities Committee
Kennedy Hearing Room, 208, City Hall, 1200 Market
Open to the Public

City Online Calendar Notice/Agenda 

Presentation by Ameren relating to two bills in Missouri General Assembly. Ameren is likely seeking Board of Aldermen support for the legislation: Senate Bill 564 and House Bill 1575.

There is a lot in this bill, including discounted electric rates for certain large users to be paid for by the remaining residential and business customers. From the bill summary…

“DISCOUNTED ELECTRIC RATES (Section 393.1640) – This act requires electrical corporations to make available discounted rates for qualifying customers upon application and upon a public announcement of a growth project. Any customer that receives local, regional, or state economic development incentives and that adds incremental load with average monthly demand of at least 500kW and a load factor of at least 55% within 2 years shall qualify for a 40% discount average for up to 5 years on all base rate components, and an additional 10% discount for 1 year after the expiration of the initial discount if the customer takes service from an under-utilized circuit. Any reduced revenues arising from the discounted rate shall be borne by all of the electrical corporation’s customer classes.”

1/21/2018 St. Louis Post-Dispatch Letter to the Editor by State Senator Doug Libla (R-Poplar Bluff) Ameren promotes bill that would raise electric rates 

1/17/2018 Missouri Times: Emery’s utility bill passes committee with 9-1 vote 

1/8/2018 Missourinet: Contentious 2017 utility bill is back in Missouri Legislature 

Members of the Legislation Committee include: 23rd Ward Alderman Joe Vaccaro, Chair; 5th Ward Alderwoman Tammika Hubbard; 12th Ward Alderman Larry Arnowitz; 13th Ward Alderwoman Beth Murphy;14th Ward Alderwoman Carol Howard; 18th Ward Alderman Terry Kennedy; 22nd Ward Alderman Jeffrey Boyd; 24th Ward Alderman Scott Ogilvie; 28th Ward Alderwoman Heather Navarro. There’s also a vacant seat from resignation of 8th Ward Alderman Steve Conway, who was appointed Assessor.

Members of the Public Utilities Committee include: 6th Ward Alderwoman Christine Ingrassia, Chair; 1st Ward Alderwoman Sharon Tyus; 15th Ward Alderwoman Megan Green; 16th Ward Alderman Tom Oldenburg; 20th Ward Alderwoman Cara Spencer; 21st Ward Alderman John Collins-Muhammad; 24th Ward Alderman Scott Ogilvie.

Board President Reed is a voting member of all committees.

Contact Information for all Aldermen and Board President

To find your State Senator and State Representative and contact information, go to Assessor’s Address Search, type your address, check box for Contacts and Elected Officials, click Fund Address.