2020 Legislative Preview: 5th Senate, 78th & 79th House Districts


The Missouri House of Representatives convenes at Noon, January 8. At that time, 5th Ward Democratic Committeeman Rasheen Aldridge will be sworn in as 78th District State Representative. The 78th District includes all or part of the 7th Ward’s Downtown, Kosciusko, LaSalle Park, Peabody, and Soulard neighborhoods.

79th District State Representative LaKeySha Bosley represents all or part of the 7th Ward’s Fox Park, Lafayette Square, McKinley Heights, and Tower Grove East neighborhoods.

Representing all 7th Ward neighborhoods in the Missouri Senate is 5th District State Senator Jamilah Nasheed 

In gun related legislation…

Senator Nasheed filed SB 543 to create new provisions relating to firearm restraining orders.

Rep. Bosley filed HB 1586 to regulate the sale of firearm ammunition.

Rep. Aldridge filed HB 1824 to require a firearm owner to report lost or stolen firearms.

In St. Louis Public Schools related legislation…

Senator Nasheed filed SB 626 to require every school in the St. Louis City School District to use a response-to-intervention tiered approach to reading instruction for students struggling to read.

Senator Nasheed filed SB 627 to elect the St. Louis City Board of Education from seven districts.

Senator Nasheed and Rep. Aldridge are sponsoring SB 542 and HB 1780 to restore voting rights to persons convicted, served their time, and released but on probation or parole.

Senator Nasheed also filed SJR 35, a constitutional amendment to require redistricting to use last residence of persons incarcerated instead of where they are incarcerated.

Rep. Bosley is also sponsoring HJR 83, a constitutional amendment to limit votes for county mergers to the counties affected by the merger. This is legislation was filed last year and was passed out of committee. The legislation was and is a counter measure to Rex Sinquefield funded Better Together Plan to give statewide voters the right to dictate what kind of government St. Louis City and St. Louis County should have.

Rep. Aldridge has filed HB 1781 to authorize a tax credit for establishing a new business in a distressed community.

Tuesday BOA Meeting With Ameren on #MoLeg Rate Hike Legislation

eletric rates mgn_1511984898757_29590202_ver1.0_640_360Make your voices heard! Contact your Aldermen and Board President Lewis Reed. Contact your State Senator and State Representative. Contact information at end of post.

1 pm Tuesday, January 23, 2018
St. Louis Board of Aldermen
10 am Thursday, December 7, 2017
St. Louis Board of Aldermen
Legislation Committee and Public Utilities Committee
Kennedy Hearing Room, 208, City Hall, 1200 Market
Open to the Public

City Online Calendar Notice/Agenda 

Presentation by Ameren relating to two bills in Missouri General Assembly. Ameren is likely seeking Board of Aldermen support for the legislation: Senate Bill 564 and House Bill 1575.

There is a lot in this bill, including discounted electric rates for certain large users to be paid for by the remaining residential and business customers. From the bill summary…

“DISCOUNTED ELECTRIC RATES (Section 393.1640) – This act requires electrical corporations to make available discounted rates for qualifying customers upon application and upon a public announcement of a growth project. Any customer that receives local, regional, or state economic development incentives and that adds incremental load with average monthly demand of at least 500kW and a load factor of at least 55% within 2 years shall qualify for a 40% discount average for up to 5 years on all base rate components, and an additional 10% discount for 1 year after the expiration of the initial discount if the customer takes service from an under-utilized circuit. Any reduced revenues arising from the discounted rate shall be borne by all of the electrical corporation’s customer classes.”

1/21/2018 St. Louis Post-Dispatch Letter to the Editor by State Senator Doug Libla (R-Poplar Bluff) Ameren promotes bill that would raise electric rates 

1/17/2018 Missouri Times: Emery’s utility bill passes committee with 9-1 vote 

1/8/2018 Missourinet: Contentious 2017 utility bill is back in Missouri Legislature 

Members of the Legislation Committee include: 23rd Ward Alderman Joe Vaccaro, Chair; 5th Ward Alderwoman Tammika Hubbard; 12th Ward Alderman Larry Arnowitz; 13th Ward Alderwoman Beth Murphy;14th Ward Alderwoman Carol Howard; 18th Ward Alderman Terry Kennedy; 22nd Ward Alderman Jeffrey Boyd; 24th Ward Alderman Scott Ogilvie; 28th Ward Alderwoman Heather Navarro. There’s also a vacant seat from resignation of 8th Ward Alderman Steve Conway, who was appointed Assessor.

Members of the Public Utilities Committee include: 6th Ward Alderwoman Christine Ingrassia, Chair; 1st Ward Alderwoman Sharon Tyus; 15th Ward Alderwoman Megan Green; 16th Ward Alderman Tom Oldenburg; 20th Ward Alderwoman Cara Spencer; 21st Ward Alderman John Collins-Muhammad; 24th Ward Alderman Scott Ogilvie.

Board President Reed is a voting member of all committees.

Contact Information for all Aldermen and Board President

To find your State Senator and State Representative and contact information, go to Assessor’s Address Search, type your address, check box for Contacts and Elected Officials, click Fund Address.