2020 Legislative Preview: 5th Senate, 78th & 79th House Districts


The Missouri House of Representatives convenes at Noon, January 8. At that time, 5th Ward Democratic Committeeman Rasheen Aldridge will be sworn in as 78th District State Representative. The 78th District includes all or part of the 7th Ward’s Downtown, Kosciusko, LaSalle Park, Peabody, and Soulard neighborhoods.

79th District State Representative LaKeySha Bosley represents all or part of the 7th Ward’s Fox Park, Lafayette Square, McKinley Heights, and Tower Grove East neighborhoods.

Representing all 7th Ward neighborhoods in the Missouri Senate is 5th District State Senator Jamilah Nasheed 

In gun related legislation…

Senator Nasheed filed SB 543 to create new provisions relating to firearm restraining orders.

Rep. Bosley filed HB 1586 to regulate the sale of firearm ammunition.

Rep. Aldridge filed HB 1824 to require a firearm owner to report lost or stolen firearms.

In St. Louis Public Schools related legislation…

Senator Nasheed filed SB 626 to require every school in the St. Louis City School District to use a response-to-intervention tiered approach to reading instruction for students struggling to read.

Senator Nasheed filed SB 627 to elect the St. Louis City Board of Education from seven districts.

Senator Nasheed and Rep. Aldridge are sponsoring SB 542 and HB 1780 to restore voting rights to persons convicted, served their time, and released but on probation or parole.

Senator Nasheed also filed SJR 35, a constitutional amendment to require redistricting to use last residence of persons incarcerated instead of where they are incarcerated.

Rep. Bosley is also sponsoring HJR 83, a constitutional amendment to limit votes for county mergers to the counties affected by the merger. This is legislation was filed last year and was passed out of committee. The legislation was and is a counter measure to Rex Sinquefield funded Better Together Plan to give statewide voters the right to dictate what kind of government St. Louis City and St. Louis County should have.

Rep. Aldridge has filed HB 1781 to authorize a tax credit for establishing a new business in a distressed community.

August 2nd Missouri Democratic Primary 7th Ward Endorsements

7th Ward Independent Democrats have voted to endorse the following candidates and issues.  7th Ward Democratic Committeewoman Marie Ceselski supports the candidates and issues chosen by the members.

August 2, 2016 Democratic Primary
For U.S. Senator: Elect Cori Bush
For Governor: Elect Charles B. Wheeler
For Lt. Governor: Elect Tommie Pierson Sr
For Secretary of State: Elect Robin Smith
For State Treasurer: Elect Judy Baker
For Attorney General: Elect Jake Zimmerman
For U.S. House 1st District: Re-Elect Lacy Clay
For Missouri Senate 5th District: Re-Elect Jamilah Nasheed
For Missouri House 78th District: Elect Bruce Franks
For Missouri House 79th District: Re-Elect Michael Butler
For St. Louis City Circuit Attorney: Elect Kimberly M. Gardner
For St. Louis City Sheriff: Elect Vernon Betts
For St. Louis City Treasurer: Re-Elect Tishaura Jones
For 7th Ward Democratic Committeeman: Elect Marty Joe Murray Jr
For 7th Ward Democratic Committeewoman: Re-Elect Marie Ceselski

Many Thanks To Our Candidate Speakers At Monday’s 6th & 7th Wards Forum

tishauraSt. Louis City Treasurer Tishaura Jones; 5th District Missouri Senate Candidates: Hon. Jamilah Nasheed and Dylan Hassinger; Missouri House Candidates: 78th District Bruce Franks and 79th Hon. Michael Butler; U.S. House Candidate: Hon. Maria Chappell-Nadal; 7th Ward Committeeman Candidate: Marty Joe Murray Jr; 6th Ward Committeeman Candidates: Matt Carroll-Schmidt and Hon. Michael Butler; 6th Ward Committeewoman Candidates: Alison Dreith and Mary Entrup